Victorian Branch of PSA announces new leadership team

26 Jun, 2014


The Victorian Branch of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia has completed its Branch elections process with the election of office bearers.

The Victorian Branch Committee, to take effect from July 1, is made up of Joe Demarte, Vali Ghobadi, Jenny Gowan, Michael Gray, Julie Grint, John Jackson, Michelle Lynch, Benjamin Marchant, Jarrod McMaugh and Louis Roller.

The Office Bearers are Michelle Lynch, Branch President and National Board representative; and John Jackson and Benjamin Marchant, both Vice Presidents. Joe Demarte is the second National Board representative from Victoria.

Ms Lynch is a practising pharmacist with more than 15 years’ experience working in both community and hospital (public and private) pharmacy. She currently works for an independent pharmacy consulting firm providing independent advice and assisting to implement solutions to issues related to medication management, pharmacy services, contracts, risk management, quality systems, operational issues and options. Ms Lynch also continues to work in community pharmacy every week as she enjoys and relishes the opportunity to engage with patients and practice as a pharmacist.

Benjamin Marchant graduated with his Bachelor of Pharmacy in 2005 and has worked in both hospital and community pharmacy. His is also a practicing accredited pharmacist with experience in pharmacotherapy, aged care and primary health care through community pharmacy.

John Jackson has been proprietor of both community and hospital pharmacies and currently serves on the Advisory Board of APHS which provides pharmacy services to acute care hospitals and aged care facilities. He is also Director of “Project Pharmacist” within the Pharmacy Faculty, Monash University.  He was a PSA National Director from 2008 to 2013 and is also President of the Western Pacific Pharmaceutical Forum, Vice President of the Australian Pharmacy Council and Chairperson of the Advisory Committee on Medicines Scheduling and was previously a Director of the AACP and the SHPA.

Joe Demarte is a practising community pharmacist with more than 30 years’ experience in the provision of pharmacy services to the Victorian public.  He has owned and managed six pharmacies at various times during his career and his pharmacies have been at the forefront of providing Primary Health Care, and of tailoring pharmacy services to meet specific needs of various patients. He is a Life Fellow of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia, and a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Media contact: Peter Waterman
Public Affairs Director
0419 260 827

Comments are closed.

This item is listed in the following categories: • Media releases