Pharmacy Student of the Year competition a PAC13 highlight

Sep 20 ,2013

Reference :

One of the highlights of PAC is the annual Pharmacy Student of the Year competition finals, an event which sees the best student pharmacists from each state and territory vie for the national title.

This year the finals will be held on Friday with the winners – the judges’ choice and the people’s choice – announced during the Gala Dinner on Saturday night.

National President of PSA, Grant Kardachi, said that the Pharmacy Student of the Year Awards, which were initially launched at PAC in 2004, were a highlight of the Congress.

“The Pharmacy Student of the Year award showcases the skills and abilities of some of our outstanding pharmacy students to the pharmacy profession while also giving students a chance to apply that knowledge in a practical sense and be on judged on it,” Mr Kardachi said.

“The Pharmacy Student of the Year award event is a great learning experience for the participants, the profession and the audience as well.”

This year’s finalists are:

 Connie Arronis, from the University of Sydney who is the NAPSA wildcard

 Callan Beesley of the University of New England

 Narelle Smith form the University of South Australia

 Tessa Lane from the University of Canberra

 Rachael Starkey from  Queensland University of Technology

 Sean Pulham from Curtin University

 Rebecca Boschert from La Trobe University

 Dana McLennan from the University of Tasmania

This year’s competition is being jointly sponsored by Alphapharm and API.