Pharmacy Student of the Year announced


21 October 2012

This year’s entrant from Western Australia, Louise Gabrovsek, was named the Alphapharm Pharmacy Student of the Year during a ceremony at the Pharmacy Australia Congress in Melbourne last night. 

Ms Gabrovsek also won the added honour of picking up the audience choice award for the event. 

National President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia, Grant Kardachi, congratulated Ms Gabrovsek, from the University of Western Australia, and said that once again during the competition, the standard of participants had been amazing. 

“Every year judging a winner from such talented students becomes harder and harder,” Mr Kardachi said. 

“The judges are increasingly faced with students who possess a truly remarkable range of skills and knowledge and who are able to put these talents into very practical uses when counselling ‘patients’ during the competition. 

“However, after extensive deliberation, and I must say debate, the judges have chosen Louise who they believed was outstanding in an already outstanding field of candidates.” 

The eight State, Territory and Wildcard finalists this year were: 

Wildcard                    Melanie Burgess,                 James Cook University

Queensland              Elizabeth McCourt,              Queensland University

Victoria                       Kahlinda Mahoney              Monash University

WA                               Louise Gabrovsek               University of Western Australia

ACT                             Briony Davidson                 University of Canberra

NSW                            Megan Coleman                 Charles Sturt University 

Tasmania                   Daniel Hoyle                                    University of Tasmania

SA                                Sarira El Den                       Charles Darwin University 

Mr Kardachi said that the Alphapharm Pharmacy Student of the Year Awards, which were initially launched  at PAC in 2004, were a highlight of the Congress . 

”The PSA Alphapharm Pharmacy Student of the Year award showcases the skills and abilities of some of our outstanding pharmacy students to the pharmacy profession while also giving students a chance to apply their skills and be judged on them,” Mr Kardachi said. 

“The Pharmacy Student of the Year award event is a great learning experience for the participants, the profession and the audience as well.” 

MEDIA CONTACT: Peter Waterman                    0487 922 176