Pharmacy of the Year 2013 – in search of excellence!


The Pharmacy Guild of Australia is once again looking to reward excellence in community pharmacy.  
Entries are now open for the Quality Care Pharmacy Program (QCPP) Pharmacy of the Year awards,
which provide the highest recognition of superior achievement in the industry. 

The awards recognise excellence in pharmacy across three categories:
1. Business Management
2. Community Engagement
3. Innovation in Professional Services. 

Each category will be awarded to a different community pharmacy, with the overall Pharmacy of the Year
for 2013 being selected from these three category winners. The overall winner will be the pharmacy that
stands out among the finalists and can demonstrate achievements across each of the three categories.
This week, Scott McCahon of Cape York Guardian Pharmacy reflected on his reign as the winning
pharmacy in 2012: “Winning QCPP Pharmacy of the Year was a tremendous thrill and a proud moment
for myself, the team and the community of Weipa. The recognition and congratulations received from all
sectors of the profession has been an overwhelming and exhilarating experience. It has assisted us to
attract professional staff and raised the profile of the business which has definitely facilitated professional
outcomes. But if I had to define a single aspect of the win that resonates most it would be the fact that the
community of Weipa share our excitement and proudly tell their friends that “our Pharmacy won Pharmacy
of the Year!” 

The National President of the Guild, Kos Sclavos, said: “I am extremely proud of our industry and there is
no better showcase of our individual and collective achievements than this rigorously judged and highly
respected award. I encourage all my colleagues to participate.” 

Winners will share in a cash prize and receive a stylish trophy to display in their pharmacy. Travel and
registration costs to attend the award ceremony at the Australian Pharmacy Professional (APP)
conference on the Gold Coast, 21-24 March 2013, will be paid for category winners. Category winners
will have ongoing exposure through QCPP and Guild publications after participating in a professional

To enter Pharmacy of the Year, an online form has been created to help streamline the entry process for all
pharmacies. Entrants can access the form at  

Submissions close 26 November, 2012.
Media inquiries: Greg Turnbull 0412 910261