Pharmacists appointed to Qld Health Board


21 May 2012

The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) has welcomed the appointment of two Queensland pharmacists to that state’s new local Health and Hospital Boards.

Scott McCahon from Weipa on the Cape York Peninsula and Terry White from Brisbane were appointed to Chair their local Health and Hospital Boards as part of the Queensland Government’s reintroduction of local Health Boards.

PSA Queensland Branch President, Dr Lisa Nissen, said, “This is a strong endorsement for the active and substantial contribution pharmacists around Queensland and Australia make on a daily basis to not only the care of their patients but also to the broader communities in which they work and live.

Announcing the appointments, Queensland Health Minister, Lawrence Springborg said that the Boards would require the selection of highly-skilled leaders in local communities to chair the Boards.

Dr Nissen said, “There is no doubt that both Terry and Scott bring exceptional skill and commitment to health-care, communities and pharmacy to these roles and are amazing role models for the profession and for others engaged in the hospital and health boards.

“The Queensland pharmacy community are certainly very proud of both of them,” she said.

Scott McCahon is Chair of the Cape York Hospital and Health Board and Terry White is Chair of the Metro South Board.

Scott McCahon owns the 2012 Pharmacy of the Year and has established his pharmacy as an integral part of the Weipa community.

Terry White has extensive board and business experience. He is Chairman of White Retail and Terry White Chemists and the founding Chairman of the Nudgee College Foundation. Mr White’s experience includes roles as Member of Parliament, Minister of the Crown and President of the Pharmacy Guild.

MEDIA CONTACT:    Andrew Daniels 0487 922 175