National Student Business Plan winners announced


A team from the University of South Australia has won the Pharmacy Guild of Australia’s National Student 
Business Plan Competition for 2012. 

The competition is an Australia-wide challenge promoting creative entrepreneurship among students
preparing for a career in community pharmacy. 

Three finalist teams made presentations at the Guild’s Pharmacy Business Network (PBN) conference in
Canberra yesterday, with the winners being announced at a gala dinner last night (Saturday). 

The results as announced by the judges were:
Overall winner: Complete Care Pharmacy - SA Ling Na Yan, Chris Braithwaite (NAPSA President),Jessica
2nd: Cairns Community Chemist – QUT
Caitlyn Fletcher, Andrew Gill, Emma Shallcross, Linda Wallin
3rd: Breathe Easy Pharmacy – Sydney
Sahand Imani, Clara Leung, Melinda Ho, David Tadros

The winning team’s business model was centred on pharmacy-based cancer services. 

Entrants in the competition produced business plans, answered online quizzes, completed several essay
questions and participated in an investor pitch. 

The competition provided $12,000 in cash prizes to the finalists. The event is an initiative of the Pharmacy
Guild of Australia and is sponsored by Blackmores (principal sponsor), Gold Cross Products and Services,
and Pharmaceutical Defence Limited (PDL). 

The competition was open to all pharmacy schools in Australia, with a total of eighteen entries received this
Media inquiries and photo requests: Greg Turnbull 0412 910 261