National Competency Standards Update Released

National Competency Standards Update Released

The pharmacy profession’s updated competency standards, the National Competency Standards Framework for Pharmacists in Australia 2010, has been released today following a comprehensive review through a profession-wide consultative forum.

The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA), as the custodian of the document on behalf of the pharmacy profession, led the review which involved:

˙Association of Hospital Pharmacists;

˙Association of Professional Engineers, Scientists and Managers, Australia;

˙Australian Association of Consultant Pharmacy;

˙Australian College of Pharmacy;

˙Australian Pharmacy Council;

˙Council of Pharmacy Schools: Australia and New Zealand Inc.;

˙Pharmaceutical Society of Australia;

˙Pharmacy Board of Australia;

˙Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia; and

˙The Pharmacy Guild of Australia.

Features of the new document include:

˙consolidation of eight Domains (previously Functional Areas) and 33 Standards to represent the total competency framework for the profession;

˙strengthening the Standards, in particular those relating to: leadership and management; extemporaneous preparation; researchers and educators; collaboration; primary and preventive health care;

˙clear articulation of performance criteria expected at initial registration (entry-level);

˙highlighting the importance and relevance of the competency standards to all stages of a pharmacist’s professional life; and

˙introducing the concept of advanced practice to the profession.

For full content, please refer to Source.

National Competency Standards Update Released.pdf